Hello Ello ello

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Craig1066, Jan 14, 2017.

1. Craig1066

Craig1066 New Member

Hi my name is Craig I'm new to stockaholics. Hope everyone is doing well and maybe chat with someone you real soon.

2. Tiptopptrader

Tiptopptrader Well-Known Member

Hi Craig and welcome to the board. Maybe you can tell us a little bit about your self and what kind of trader you are,..Swing/Day/Long or what ever.

TTT

Craig1066 likes this.
  3. Craig1066

Craig1066 New Member

Hi I am new to trading and am not sure of the technical terms as yet. But from the research I have been doing I think day trader would be the way forward for me.

Tiptopptrader likes this.
  4. Tiptopptrader

Here is a list of stock abbreviations and slang's that might help you out. I have highlighted some that are more commonly used.

AF - Audited Financials

AH - After Hours

ATH - All time high

AM - After Market

AON - All Or None. If you want to buy or sell a certain amount of shares in one block, you enter a AON order.

AS or A/S - Authorized Shares: The shares the company is authorized to sell or to issue to employees, officers, or to vendors for goods and services.

Ax - One market maker that seems to control the supply/demand of a security or stock. Plural is the axes.

BD - Broker Dealer, about 2000 in US

BDC - Business Development Company. A publicly traded closed end investment company. Stock issued by a BDC is exempt from registration under the Securties and Exchange Act. The stock can be immediately sold into the market. The amount is limited to $5,000,000 per year.

BK - Bankruptcy

BOD - Board Of Directors

CEDE - Name for Depository Trust Clearing Company (DTCC), a large clearing house that holds shares in its name for banks, brokers and institutions in order to expedite the sale and transfer of stock..

CC - Conference Call

COB - Close Of Business