a complete newbie needing advice

Discussion in 'Ask any question!' started by anarcyninja, Sep 7, 2018.

1. anarcyninja

anarcyninja New Member

Hi, I have never traded in shares in my life. I want to buy stock in maybe Advanced micro devices. I was also looking at this company called wish.

What broker should I start off with. I have no knowledge on the stock market but I want to learn because I do not want to have to work in a job for the rest of my life and I figured out that the stock market could help me be financially free if I get good at it.

So where do I start....I am a complete newbie

Jrich likes this.
  2. Gray Wolf

Gray Wolf Well-Known Member

Anarcyninja, start in this forum. https://stockaholics.net/forums/educational-videos-and-material.20/

The link to the basic training through Investopedia has a lot of information in it and could help you figure out what your overall strategy or a blend of several strategies can be. Also, there is a forum on Vendors that have some info in there. I would recommend something like TD Ameritrade which is the one I've used for over 7 years now and still have high recommendation on them.

There is a lot to learn and being realistic you will not be able to replace your day job with this unless you already have a multi-million dollar base of funds to work with. I do not believe that someone can take say 100K and consistently turn that into enough profits that one could use those profits to live on and continue to grow a base portfolio. It is simply not realistic to expect that.

Onepoint272 and Stockaholic like this.
  3. anarcyninja

anarcyninja New Member

dammn I was hoping to learn to get rich lol. I earn about $47000 a year could I take some of that money and turn that into a portfolio...

What do you think of AMD shares

4. anarcyninja

anarcyninja New Member

I looked through those forums.

5. Onepoint272

Onepoint272 2019 Stockaholics Contest Winner

Try this site too: