Boy did I screw up - VTVT

Discussion in 'Investing' started by gtrudeau88, Dec 13, 2020.

Tags:
  1. gtrudeau88

gtrudeau88 Well-Known Member

I'm new at investing so please cut me slack re my stupidity. If wrong forum I'm sorry.

So I tweaked my 50K portfolio to create a 2k buffer (what I'm willing to lose) to give me a little money to play with while I learn investing principals and how to be smart and how not to be dumb. I've made rules for my portfolio which I intend to follow and here they are:

My Rules for Stock Account

- No more than 10 positions allowed.

- To buy a new stock I have to sell my entire position in an existing position

- $325 minimum monthly dividend income

- Positions in CODI, ABBV, SDIV, NLY, CSSEP, T, GLP, MPC, VLO will not be touched except in the following circumstances

o Evaluate every 3-6 months

§ If stock drops below purchase price by 7-10% then sell

§ Rebalance if position > 15% of portfolio

§ Rebalance if sector (i.e. energy) > 35% of portfolio

§ Rebalance if dividend drops below $325/mo

o $100 per month will be added to one or more of these positions whenever possible

- 10th position (starting value $2043.78)

o Position is mine to play with as I see fit

o Never > than 5% of portfolio

o Profit will be returned from position to checking account at the end of each month

I saw a blurb that VTVT had spiked in trading and share price due to the release of data regarding a phase 2 trial. It got as high as $4.50 before dropping quite a bit. Without researching further, I bought 600 shares at 3.40 per share. I thought it would go back up or at least be stable around that price. it didn't and I lost almost $200. Had I researched before buying I would have known that a stock purchase by the parent investor was driving the price increase, not the phase 2 trial data.

Live and learn but not a great start to my investing career

#1 gtrudeau88, Dec 13, 2020
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2020
    Jamey Chocklett likes this.
  2. B Russ