Call Option Profit Calculator

Discussion in 'Ask any question!' started by James DeRossett, Oct 20, 2018.

1. James DeRossett

James DeRossett New Member

So, I'm new to option trading and wanted to buy a $116 Disney (Dis) call expiring on Nov. 30. Limit price is $5.40 with a quantity of 1. The Disney stock price is currently $118.98. Can someone please help me learn how I can calculate my potential profit earnings if it reaches it's strike price? Thank you in advance.

2. Three Eyes

Three Eyes 2018 Stockaholics Contest Winner

If DIS is at the 116 strike price at expiration, your profit would be zero...in fact, you would have lost your $540 investment altogether. Just to break even, you'd need DIS to be at 121.40 at expiration: 116 strike + 5.40 call price paid. Anything above 121.40 at expiration would be profit (minus commission/trading fees, of course).

The above calcs are for DIS *at expiration,* when all of the time value of the call option has evaporated. You might be able to break even or realize a profit on the 116 strike call before expiration if DIS goes higher for some reason...it depends on how much time value remains and any associated volatility baked into the price. (and what I just wrote is very much an over-simplification of option price determination. :)

T0rm3nted likes this.
  3. James DeRossett

James DeRossett New Member

I greatly appreciate your help. Obviously I'm very new to this and everything I've read hasn't been nearly that simplistic. I didn't even know the call price was to be added to the strike price. Is there any software or program you know of that would help me calculate potential profits for option trading? Also, any good option traders you recommend to follow to learn more?

4. Three Eyes

Three Eyes 2018 Stockaholics Contest Winner