Hi! I'm Paul from Ohio

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by pfar54, Jul 13, 2016.

1. pfar54

pfar54 New Member

Greetings everyone! I'm 28 and my background is in marketing and I own a web development company. I am just now getting into stocks and looking for my first investment. I have always wanted to do this, but always put it off, usually due to financial restraints. However, now I am ready to jump into this world. Other than a finance class and some stock projects way back in High School I don't have too much education on investing or the stock market. I came here to learn and possibly get some help along the way.

For now, I will only be putting small amounts of funds into stocks as I learn along the way. I feel doing this is better than a virtual/fake scenario. I took my first steps yesterday and joined Acorns to earn a small amount on the extra change I put into it. I also joined robinhood and this is where I will be purchasing my stock from. I deposited a small amount of $50 into robinhood and this is what I will do my small test with and as I see incremental steps of further understanding I will keep adding funds to it. I know $50 isn't much, but I need to start somewhere. So, my strategy for now is to look for some shares around the $5-$10 range and buy a share or two from a couple of different companies. I don't want to say I will be "throwing money around", but it will sort of be like that until I find the right way to do it and that is why I deposited such a small amount.

I know researching companies is a great way to tell how well a stock may do, but what are some good sources for a beginner like myself? Right now I am holding back just going in and purchasing anything to just get it started. I want to ideally get off on the right foot. I have been browsing yahoo finance a lot and doing a lot of google searches on companies, but are there better channels of finding or projecting how well a stock may do?