Newb needs terminology clarification

Discussion in 'Ask any question!' started by Bodrey, Sep 10, 2020.

1. Bodrey

Bodrey New Member

I'm new to stock investing (only a few months now). I've made some OK gains in some of my stocks and I want to protect my unrealized profits from evaporating if share prices start to crater. I'm with Questrade. I found out the hard way that Canadian exchanges don't allow the use of Trailing Stop Losses which I think is very lame (as usual, Americans have an advantage that we don't). I got a message that says I have to put the order through as a Stop Limit or a Trailing Stop Limit. Problem is, I don't know what the difference is.

I just want to minimize my profit losses as much as possible relative to the current share price in the event it starts to go down. I'm surmising that a Trailing Stop Limit is as close to a Trailing Stop Loss as we can use. I don't understand the difference between one of those and a Trailing Stop. I'm particularly confused by the two parts to the Stop Limit - the Stop price and the Limit price. I read an article that tried to explain it but I still don't get it.

I understand Trailing Stop Losses and being able to use those would make things so much easier, but no - can't allow Canadians to do that.

Could somebody please explain the difference and which one is more advantageous as far as minimizing profit losses?

2. Onepoint272

Onepoint272 2019 Stockaholics Contest Winner

You bot BULLY at $25 and it is now trading at $33. You've decided that if it gets under the low of 2 days ago at $30.25 you want to take profits rather than ride out a correction, but you're going to allow it to sink below that low by 25 cents. So you place your Stop Limit order with a stop at $30.