Penny stock valuation

Discussion in 'Ask any question!' started by lostprofit, Apr 13, 2021.

1. lostprofit

lostprofit New Member

I am pretty new to investing and have started dabbling in penny stocks. I have been trying to learn how to read SEC filings and such to get an understanding of how to extrapolate the information from there into a form that would give me a valuation or a general idea of what the company is worth as opposed to what the market is currently valuing it at.

I am interested in mid/long term investing so, not really into trading or anything.

I have read some articles about valuing small cap / mid / large cap companies, but micro-caps are kind of weird win that alot of them are not profitable and that causes alot of the financial ratio's to not work effectively. Does anyone know a good strategy for determining the value of a penny stock?

2. StockJock-e

StockJock-e Brew Master
    Staff Member

All you need to know about penny stocks is that they go up when they are promoted, and they drop when promoters and insiders dump their shares.

There may be good fundamentals or no fundamentals at all, none of it matters.

The only thing that matters is if some group is pumping it or not.

3. financial junkyard

financial junkyard New Member

This is what work for 90% of the time..but actually you can find interesting stuff in the OTCQX market

4. Julian21

Julian21 New Member

Yes I can confirm that OTC stocks lately are quite interesting because surpass the $5 price per share and some are traded per day on $30-$50 per share which is funny is not penny stocks stands.

5. emmett kelly

emmett kelly Well-Known Member

4 Penny Stocks Insiders Are Buying
    Today 9:44 AM ET (Benzinga)Print

When insiders purchase or sell shares, it indicates their confidence or concern around the company's prospects. Investors and traders interested in penny stocks can consider this a factor in their overall investment or trading decision.