Reintroduction -=- Learning To Invest -=-

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Alexander Gray, Feb 1, 2017.

1. Alexander Gray

Hey, this is intended to be a shortish post but I have a tendency to ramble so please forgive me.

I am a young adolescent who has been fascinated almost religiously in the investment world for 3 years now.

Aprox. 2007
    I first discovered the stock market whilst playing my favorite video game Runescape. The game allows you to control a character and gain experience and level up whilst you also collect amazing items of varying rarity. I started trading before I even realized that was what it is.

I used to exploit discrepancies in pricing by buying in locations where resources were being gathered and sell where demand for those resources was high with minimal supply. I became so good at this that I created a network of people doing this prior to the arrival of an auction house that made this method redundant. I got fairly rich in relation to the game and at one point owned one of the rarest tradeable items. I loved collecting items and gp and arranging then rearranging my bank layout in the game. This was one (of a few) video game Awesome moments in my eyes.

26 November 2007
    So after the auction house (known as the grand exchange) my clan chat became redundant. But my passion for collecting items hadn't stopped. I began learning how to exploit the new system. I started putting buy offers in for low prices and waiting long periods and then selling for a bit more. Initially I lost a fair bit and had to sell most of my bank and rare items but then I mastered how to do it (which was ridiculously easy with hindsight), achieving m y pinnacle of virtual net worth.