What should I do

Discussion in 'Investing' started by Christopher Davis, Apr 12, 2023.

1. Christopher Davis

Christopher Davis New Member

I have 4 or 5 stocks that have just absolutely plummeted over the past year. Down like 80% each. Yes I should have gotten out long ago, but I was distracted by life, and I did not. So here we are. And now I'm wondering what I should do, if anything.

I am holding on to them hoping they will go back up eventually and I can at least break even. Probably another rookie mindset, they might never. And they have not moved for several months.

I'm wondering when an experienced investor would throw in the towel, accept the losses, cash out what you have and re-invest elsewhere. I might be able to make some of it back with other securities. Or hold on hoping they will go back up? What would an experienced trader do? What is the school of thought on this predicament?

I know this is kind of vague and obviously I'm a novice investor, and it's really up to the individual and their plans. But I could really use a few examples, case studies, advice, etc.

Thanks very much

2. WXYZ

WXYZ Well-Known Member

I guess first....what are the stocks? Is your "HOPE" for them to go back up realistic? If not....are you going to lose even more of your money? How much money are we talking about at the current value?

3. TomB16

TomB16 Well-Known Member

I will share my opinion. My opinion is based on a value investing approach so it is not fact.

The idea of hoping to get your money back and get out is very poor investing behavior. It is an instinct many people have but a mistake.

If the companies are well run and likely to do well, you should want to own them more now at the lower valuations than you did when they were 5x current market caps.