Which stock charts are real time?

Discussion in 'Ask any question!' started by frobot, May 10, 2016.

1. frobot

frobot New Member

I am just starting to learn about the stock market and this is something that I just can't find a solid answer for.
    Can you find free stock graphs that are real time? (at least one minute intervals or less)
    I have read things that imply yes and no. I have looked around quite a bit and I can compare which graphs update the fastest, but still have no way of knowing if it is updating in real time without comparing it to something that I know for sure is in real time.
    One of the main things that has confused me is that I have been playing with the stock simulator on investopedia, and when you put in an order it is delayed 20 minutes. They say it is to make it fair since some people might have stock quotes in real time, and the graphs they provide are delayed 20 minutes. But if real time graphs are freely available... wouldn't everyone have access to it and therefore not be an unfair advantage?
    Also on a side note - Does anyone know of a stock simulator that doesn't have the 20 minute order delay? I am trying to learn higher frequency trading and test out a neural network I am developing.

T0rm3nted and Tiptopptrader like this.
  2. Tiptopptrader

Tiptopptrader Well-Known Member

3. frobot

frobot New Member

Thanks for your reply. I have come across both of these websites in my searching. But again, if real time data is freely available I don't understand why stock market simulation games always delay your orders.

4. T0rm3nted

T0rm3nted Moderator
    Staff Member

I have never used it, but I was reading the FAQ for "How The Market Works" trading game and it sounds like it may be real time. Quote below:

Link - http://www.howthemarketworks.com/

5. Onepoint272

Onepoint272 2019 Stockaholics Contest Winner