Which platform do you think is best?

Discussion in 'Ask any question!' started by RauLi, Oct 10, 2016.

1. RauLi

RauLi New Member

I'm new to stocks, but i'm very interested in it and wish to begin trading in order to begin gaining experience. I would like to know on what platform I should use to trade. I head etrade a lot.. but i know theres potentially better ones out there. Give me the top 3 on your list and maybe why. I'd highly appreciate it. Thank you. Btw i'd like to begin trading with aboutt... 300 bucks? just to test the waters. thx

2. Stockaholic

Stockaholic Content Manager

@RauLi firstly welcome to Stockaholics! :)

RE: Platforms

I know you're looking for a top 3 list of platforms, but I can't personally recommend more than 1 that I already know of ... albeit that isn't to say that there aren't other platforms out there ... it's just that I haven't used them. Perhaps someone else here could chime in to this thread and give you a top 3 list.

As for the one that I know and use every day, it's ThinkorSwim by TD Ameritrade.

I may be biased in this opinion, but I think ToS (ThinkorSwim) is hands down the most superior trading & charting platform out there today.

If you're looking for a "why" answer it's simply this (IMO anyway) -- ToS has just about everything one could ever possibly need in a platform. Whether it's a certain oscillator/indicator you name this platform has got you covered. But that is just scratching the surface! There is so much more one can do on this platform, it's pretty mind blowing.

They've also got a pretty darn nice mobile app to boot.

I wouldn't replace ToS for anything. But, again that is just me and others may beg to differ.

Anyway, good luck to you and your trading endeavors, and I hope you are able to find the platform that is right for you.

3. Gray Wolf

Gray Wolf Well-Known Member