Dumb options questions

Discussion in 'Ask any question!' started by Jrich, Jul 9, 2017.

1. Jrich

Jrich Well-Known Member

Well after almost 7 months of cramming everything stock market related in my head, i woke up one day and decided i havnt punished myself enough, so i started learning about options

Man, what a cluster F!... Y'all options traders must go through a lot of Tylenol

Its sinking in though... Now i understand the leverage... You buy contracts for pennies on the dollar, but they move step for step with the security... ie if you want a $5 call on a $10 stock, then you gotta pay the difference, otherwise there would be a lot of free money floating around..... But if you bought that same call back when it was 50 cents, then its gonna be a good day Tater!

I kinda ran into a wall though... The material ive found kinda has a gap between "options for beginners" and "options for freaking Einstein".......... I have a few "intermediate questions" that i havnt found direct answers to.... Since we have plenty of Einstein's here, i thought i would post em up

Ill number the questions so that anyone kind enough can take a stab at one or two or all of em

1) this has nothing to do with the actual trading, but it bothers me cause i dont understand it

Why don't exercised options show up on the chart??.... Say you have a $5 call and the stock price moves to $10... if you exercise your contract, shouldnt there be a little dot at $5?....... by my logic, there should be dots all over the chart, im glad theres not, but i wonder why

2) how are contract prices initially set?

I understand how they move into and out of the money, but what if the stock price is right on the money?... is there a predetetmined percentage to set that price?

3) does the "3 rule" apply to options?

This is the pattern day trading rule that requires 25k to participate.. im a LONG way away from that milestone