Dumb question or dumbest question?

Discussion in 'Ask any question!' started by turtle957, Feb 2, 2021.

1. turtle957

turtle957 Member

Hi all - I'm a noob so please don't think too little of me if this is literally the dumbest question ever posted on this site...

How easy would it be to start with, say, $500 and invest in company X and set a limit to sell when it goes up 10%. Then you'd have $550 and take that amount and do the same with company Y, etc. etc. I figure after doing that ~40 times you'd have like $20,000. At around 50 of such transactions you'd have about $100k.

I realize this also assumes a 100% success rate and probably lots of other factors that I don't even know about, but how difficult would this be to achieve? What kind of timeline do you think would be realistic? Is this a penny stock thing, a pure gambling play, or would there be a reasonable way to research and achieve this ($100k) within say 5-10 years?

Thanks so much if you took to the time to read this! Would love to hear input from anybody willing to share.

Sincerely,

Noob Nooberton :)

2. StockJock-e

StockJock-e Brew Master
    Staff Member

Not stupid, kind of on the right track, take small profits instead of trying for a home run every time.

Simple answer would be to go flip a coin 1000 times and see how many times it lands on the side you want.

Im not saying the market is a gamble, there are value stocks out there that will do well over the long term, but short term trading is more of a gamble.

Syynik, T0rm3nted and turtle957 like this.
  3. spindr0

spindr0 Active Member

It's a wonderful idea if you can make 40 or 50 straight winning picks in a row. But what happens if you have two losers out of the first 40 positions and they're the first two picks? Position one announces terrible news and it gaps down 25% in one day. Now you're down $100 and you need 4 straight winning picks to get back to break even.