Hi, guys. Big time noob here.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Jonesy, Aug 11, 2020.

1. Jonesy

Jonesy New Member

I joined a few days ago and just now getting around to making an introduction.

My knowledge of investing and the stock market is nil, but I'm reading everything I can and trying to make sense of it all is really overwhelming.

I'm a 40 year old web developer living in a 100k population city in the Midwest US, married with 3 kids aged 13, 11 and 2 (oops!)

Ultimately I've wanted to fire up some web-based businesses. I've dreamed up such things as niche social media platforms, e-commerce sites, daily fantasy sports data tools, affiliate marketing sites, and so on. None of these ever getting off the ground for one reason or another.

So my latest craze is the stock market. I saw someone else earlier talking about moving from real estate into investing in an attempt to simplify their life, and it occurred to me that was really what I was after without even really realizing it.

One of the biggest mysteries (and fears) for me so far is a stock market crash. What happens? How does it happen? One day you wake up with no money (or almost no money)... what the... what! Does someone trip over a cord and the system goes blank? Obviously that's not what happens, and I've read about this and it seems it can be caused by a number of factors. But nobody seems to really know exactly when this happens, except a few lucky dogs that claim to have been able to predict it (but really, A - were stupid lucky or B - had knew it was coming but didn't know when, but if you're all cash when it happens, then easy to say you did know).