Is now a good time to purchase stocks?

Discussion in 'Ask any question!' started by Ramon, Mar 23, 2020.

1. Ramon

Ramon New Member

I am an 18 year old investor. I already have around 6 months experience so I am not a complete beginner. I have allocated $5,000 into my portfolio and with this corona virus the net worth is now at $3,000. My big question is, is it a perfect time to buy a lot of shares of those major corporations like Apple, Boeing, Microsoft etc because they are so low? Again, I am new to investing so please help me understand if in times like these is the perfect time to buy shares. Thank you

Syynik likes this.
  2. StockJock-e

StockJock-e Brew Master
    Staff Member

Yes, this is a once in a decade sell off, take advantage of good companies like AAPL when they get hit hard.

Dont rush in, a bear market takes months.

Ramon and Syynik like this.
  3. Ramon

Ramon New Member

Thank you, so do you think it would be smart to invest around $10,000 just into Apple right now?

Syynik likes this.
  4. BoooOnLive

BoooOnLive New Member

Hey Ramon, everything indicates that this is a very good time to invest. Of course, nobody is going to hit rock bottom 100%... I would wait the first two weeks of April, though. I'm expecting a Black April. After that the situation will normalize. Then the European countries will have to assess whether the quarantine measures have worked. I am more concerned about the credit business of the European banks and the ECB. If the borrowers here go bankrupt in series, there could be major cuts here, which will also affect the US... Opposing opinions anyone?

VlmsGnereb and Syynik like this.
  5. Syynik

Syynik Well-Known Member

Ramon, I envy your age and position right now. You could try Dollar Cost Averaging into Aapl with your cash because as StockJock-e and BoooOnLive pointed out, we have no way of knowing what the bottom really is.

I'd kill to be you right now!! Good luck, and keep reading.

6. renegadelook