New member looking for pointers

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by JC.CSPB., Jul 13, 2016.

1. JC.CSPB.

JC.CSPB. New Member

Hello everyone,

I'm a soon to graduate engineering student, with all of my core engineering courses out of the way now. Unfortunately at no point in my education (high school or college) did I learn any real valuable skills regarding investments. The most I learned regarding economics was in one of my engineering classes in which half a semester was mostly covering the economic side of starting a chemical production factory etc. So I know about compounding interest and some other calculations, but not in depth investment types or any advice on choosing the right ones.

Once I graduate I'm projecting that I will have some 10k capital yearly left over to either save or invest. I intend to start a portfolio in which 20% of the money is put on a savings account and 80% goes to investing. From that 80% allocated to investing, 20% would be invested in some long term investment/stock while the rest of the 80% would be invested in small cap stock trades, something I can go in, in the morning and get out before the market closes. Could also be some mid stock if it's on a weekly time span.

I've been doing research on several different investment types and I'm mostly interested in stocks. It's hard to find good information online on how to really evaluate and understand the behavior of stocks though. If anyone can give me some pointers on what I can read or watch (video series) that would be great.

So far I'm trying to understand all the statistics given on stocks by yahoo finance. I imagine If I can understand all the data given including income statements etc. I will have some better understanding. I also plan to try and understand all the data given by FINVIZ on a given stock after. FINVIZ seems even more accurate with values aside from income statements and cashflow.

My sources so far are investopdia and youtube.