New to investing

Discussion in 'Investing' started by TL95, Dec 4, 2020.

1. TL95

TL95 New Member

Hi everyone. I am really new to this and I would like to hear your opinions on some stocks I’m looking to invest in. Pardon my ignorance as I am still learning.

How do you feel about Histogen (HSTO)? I bought 10 shares, is it worth it?

I have 1 Apple (AAPL) share, should I buy another one?

How do you feel about Plug Power (PLUG)? I have 2 shares.

How do you feel about ERX? I Have 1 share, should I buy more?

And finally, how do you feel about FinTech (FTIV)? I have 2 shares but not sure if it was a good investment.

Please let me know your thoughts, and I look forward to reading all your educational feedback.

Thank you!

2. WXYZ

WXYZ Well-Known Member

SORRY.....I dont really follow those stocks other than Apple. With the small amount of money you are investing have you considered simply buying a SP500 Index Fund as your SOLE investment vehicle?

Jose Munoz and TL95 like this.
  3. TL95

TL95 New Member

Thank you for taking the time to respond. I am not sure what a SP500 Index Fund is. Could you elaborate?

4. Stoch

Stoch Well-Known Member

An index fund is a basket of stocks in one share. The SPY is equivalent to owning the 500 stocks in the S&P 500, the QQQ is a basket of the tech heavy NASDAQ 100 stocks, IWM is a basket of the Russell small caps. They are ways to easily diversify among numerous stocks with just one purchase.

#4 Stoch, Dec 5, 2020
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2020
    TL95 likes this.
  5. WXYZ

WXYZ Well-Known Member

Here is some info. If you are new to investing and this does not make sense.....talk to someone you trust that has good investing knowledge and they can tell you about a SP500 Index Fund.

What Is the S&P 500?

https://www.acorns.com/money-basics/investing/what-is-sp500/

and

How to Invest in the S&P 500 Index

https://www.acorns.com/money-basics/how-to-invest-in-the-sandp-500-index/