No more student loans

Discussion in 'Personal Finance' started by T0rm3nted, Feb 14, 2017.

1. T0rm3nted

T0rm3nted Moderator
    Staff Member

Just wanted to post some encouragement to anybody who is in college or just getting out. My wife and I just finished paying off our student loans at the end of 2016. So a little back story to tell you all how I got here, so maybe you can relate and see that there are ways to get it done.

My wife and I are both 28 years old. We graduated college in 2011. We got married in October 2012. I have a computer science degree, she is a registered nurse in an ER. So yes, we both have two full-time "college degree" incomes, which does help, but it's doable either way.

We used the "snowball" method of paying down our loans, taking the smallest one first and making much larger payments on it until it's done. Then using that payment to add to the next smallest payment as well. Dave Ramsey teaches about this method if anybody is having trouble paying off multiple loans/debt that you have.