Options question

Discussion in 'Ask any question!' started by Twist1285, Jul 3, 2018.

1. Twist1285

Twist1285 New Member

Im new to options trading and I had a question about day trading options.

I’ve been playing the earnings game (I’ve done well I hope). However, my question is : I sell an option a week before expiration date for a huge profit 2-300% however the strike price has not been met. How does this happen?
    Example for today I purchased a $40 call on MLHR last night with an expiration of 7/20. I sold it today on 7/3 when the stock was at $38 for a 120% gain. How does this happen, and why would anyone wait to excersise at $40/share when you could sell the contract for much more profit?
    Am I selling the contract to someone else at a higher premium? And again before the strike price so what is the point of it?
    Thank you in advance

2. anotherdevilsadvocate

anotherdevilsadvocate Well-Known Member

Well in this instance, MLHR went up to $39.50 last night (and even opened up at $40.10), which is very close to the strike price and with 2 weeks left to go before expiry there is a good chance it could make it over $40.

In general stocks with very high volatility can command high premiums, i.e. you could sell for a profit before it even hit the strike price. MLHR today has a pretty high volatility (but it ain't no IQ y'know).

T0rm3nted and OldFart like this.
  3. bigbull

bigbull Active Member