Shares for dummies......

Discussion in 'Stock Market Today' started by T-Shares, Sep 22, 2021.

1. T-Shares

T-Shares New Member

Hi all,

I'm a real newbie and would highly appreciate if anyone can explain to me in plain simple English what it means that Lufthansa is increasing Capital. Overnight I saw my Lufthansa share drop 27% !!!!!

Is this the time to by more or sell out??

I have received following message, but to me it is "mumble-jumble". I can see they offer me a choice but I can't really make out if it a good or bad option. Any thoughts anyone?

MESSAGE RECEIVED:
    upload_2021-9-22_16-50-53.png upload_2021-9-22_16-55-0.png upload_2021-9-22_16-56-4.png upload_2021-9-22_16-56-42.png

2. Marvan

Marvan Well-Known Member

Lufthansa ran out of money ....

Since the beginning of the Covid-19 pandemic, Lufthansa Group has taken decisive action to strengthen its liquidity and restore its balance sheet. Today, the Group is launching a EUR 2.1 billion capital increase to establish a sustainable and efficient capital structure and to enable the Group to repay the Economic Stabilization Fund of the Federal Republic of Germany (ESF)). The transaction is fully underwritten by a syndicate of 14 banks. In addition, a number of funds and accounts under the management of BlackRock, Inc. have entered into a sub-underwriting agreement for a total of EUR 300 million and have committed to fully exercise their subscription rights.

The capital increase is meant to strengthen the Group’s equity position. The Company will use the net proceeds to repay the Silent Participation I of the Economic Stabilization Fund of the Federal Republic of Germany (ESF) in the amount of EUR 1.5 billion. Additionally, the Company intends to fully repay the Silent Participation II in the amount of EUR 1 billion by the end of 2021 and also intends to cancel the undrawn amounts of the Silent Participation I by the end of 2021.