what is a bearish entry?

Discussion in 'Ask any question!' started by clockw0rk, Aug 4, 2018.

1. clockw0rk

clockw0rk New Member

I got into cryptocurrency and am mostly a HODLER but, now, I'm studying trading and am a total newbie at it.

The course I'm studying is talking about "bearish entries".

I know a bullish entry is when you buy when the price is low so you can sell it later for a higher price.

But what is a bearish entry? Previously, I thought the definition of a bearish entry is when you sell a holding of crypto near a strong resistance line, but, if that's the case shouldn't it be called a bearish exit rather than a bearish entry?

Thank you for taking the time to read this totally newbie question.

2. Gray Wolf

Gray Wolf Well-Known Member

Without seeing the context in which it is used I would think it is simply the reverse of bullish signals. A bearish entry to me would be a bullish exit trigger. There are trades that are considered a bearish trade (expects stock to drop) and bullish (expects stock to go up) Bearish trades use the Shorting of stocks and/or put options to make profit. So a bullish trader gets a chart/study trigger indicating a down trend would be interested in selling out and take profit while at the same time a bearish trader would see the same signal and enter into a short sale or perhaps buy put options.

TomB16 and clockw0rk like this.
  3. clockw0rk

clockw0rk New Member

Thanks for responding. Please look at the message I sent to you. It will offer some context so that you may more accurately give me your thoughts on what a 'bearish entry' is?

4. Onepoint272

Onepoint272 2019 Stockaholics Contest Winner

Examples of "entering" a bearish trade:
    • short sell the underlying instrument, i.e.,borrow stock from your broker and sell it on the open market hoping to buy it back cheaper and return it to your broker (cover your short sale).